Joke’s on me I guess

Every once in a while I screw up badly. This month it was that time again. I tried to uninstall a package in openSUSE using the command line tool zypper. What I wanted to do was

sudo zypper rm dconf-gsettings-backend

I typed, I hit enter, I realized that I needed to do something else first and then hit ‘no‘ when asked if I really wanted to remove the packages. So far so good. I did whatever I had to do and wanted to perform the package removal. I copied and pasted the command from above with the mouse wheel click. Twice, accidentally. With unfortunate whitespace. In effect it was the following command

sudo zypper rm dconf-gsettings-backend sudo zypper rm dconf-gsettings-backend

Carelessly I said ‘yes‘ when asked if I really wanted to remove the packages.

I ended up with a seriously f**ed up system, where apart from the package I wanted to remove, sudo was removed and zypper was removed.

Lesson learned for this year: whenever software asks you for confirmation, think twice!

minormistakegooby

About goobypl5

pizza baker, autodidact, particle physicist
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

